Hangley Aronchick is proud to announce that shareholders John Summers and Matthew Klebanoff have been honored as part of The Legal Intelligencer’s 2024 Pennsylvania Legal Awards, which recognize the achievements of attorneys and law firms across Pennsylvania and Delaware.

John Summers, chair of the firm’s litigation department, was chosen as one of six finalists in the Power Players category. The award honors attorneys who made a significant impact on public policy, legislation or jurisprudence in 2023 through their advocacy on behalf of clients. John’s notable work included representing Philadelphia District Attorney Larry Krasner in high-profile litigation over the constitutionality of the unprecedented impeachment efforts by the state General Assembly. He also led a successful challenge to Philadelphia’s ban on flavored cigars and secured a landmark victory for apartment owners who argued that discriminatory appeals of commercial tax assessments violated the Uniformity Clause of the Pennsylvania Constitution. An active pro bono practitioner, John authored a series of amicus briefs in three ongoing cases focusing on the inadmissibility of evidence obtained through torture.

Matthew Klebanoff was named a winner of the Lawyers on the Fast Track award, which recognizes the region’s top attorneys under the age of 40 at small and mid-sized firms. Matt, who practices in the firm’s insurance coverage and litigation departments, regularly counsels individuals and businesses in a wide range of commercial disputes and complex litigation matters. A trusted adviser to some of the nation’s largest insurers, Matt has secured favorable verdicts and settlements resolving high-stakes cases across multiple jurisdictions. Last year, Matt logged more than 50 pro bono hours representing abused and neglected children through his involvement with the Center for Child Advocates, leading to the successful adoptions of several children into loving and caring homes.

The winner of the Power Players award will be announced at an awards ceremony in May, where the recipients of the Lawyers on the Fast Track and other awards will also be honored.

A full list of the winners, finalists and honorees can be found here.